Ditching New Year's Resolutions for Life Resolutions, Part One

Published on by Laurie Shepherd

Hello world!

The eighth of January has rolled around and with it, resolve to keep resolutions is fading fast. I know, because it's what has happened to me year after year in the past. This year however, I didn't make any.  Through a combination of not having enough time, and not wanting it to be just a New Year's Resolution but a Life Resolution, I never sat down and wrote a list. 

That doesn't mean that I don't need resolve in my life...quite the contrary. But with Life Resolutions, one has more time to work it out thus the ability to take baby steps. Instead of a strict, "I'm going to go to the gym every day", or "I'm only going to eat healthy", or "I'm going to drink half my body weight in water", we can start with small resolutions, and then grow to the big ones.

So, what are some small resolutions that are babies of the big ones? Ones that will grow slowly into life habits? Ones that will benefit you mind, soul, and body? Well, here is my list, I hope it will be helpful and that you will invest in Life Resolutions, not just New Year ones. In this post I will be focusing on health, weight, and fitness. Stay tuned for more posts on other areas. :)

Ditching New Year's Resolutions for Life Resolutions, Part One

Health ~ Weight ~ Fitness

This one is a big one for me. German blood runs through my veins and not the curvaceous bar maid kind...no, no, the thick-set, heavy ankled, huge boned matron of the house. That being said, I find it very difficult to lose weight and keep it off. The Life Resolutions I have made in this genre have been difficult to keep, but I have ample motivation.

1. Find what motivates you and use it to keep you focused on what you want

For me, my motivation comes from my family. I want to be healthy for my family so that I'm able to take care of them in the best way possible. I want to look good for my husband, and I want as many years possible together. Finding motivation outside just myself has been a huge energy booster in the rough spots of my work outs

2. Focus on healthy snacks

We all know the late night cravings...Ice cream, chocolate, bread, pastries, etc... Not just late night cravings, but mid-afternoon slump cravings for high calorie foods...that leftover piece of pizza, chips, ice cream again...because why not! and many other things. So, I've set out to find healthy snacks that fulfill those cravings that are better for me.

    Some healthy snacks that I have found particularly satisfying are...

Greek Yogurt, particularly Dannon Greek Yogurt, Light and fit. Only 80 calories, comes in a plethora of flavors, and satisfies the sweet tooth.

Cheese stick, generally also clocking in at 80 calories, nice and quick.

Halo Top Ice Cream, this one is a new one for me and it makes me so excited!! It's ice cream! But it has only 240 to 280 calories per PINT! Now, that's something to be excited about. I tried one and it actually doesn't taste too bad. I think mine was slightly freezer burnt, but it definitely gave me an ice cream fix. 

Ditching New Year's Resolutions for Life Resolutions, Part One

         Of course, any type of fruit is good, I love to add a little protein to my apples and bananas by eating them with a tablespoon or two of peanut butter.

That is my short list so far of my go-to snacks. My life resolution is to continue to find healthy snacks that satisfy my mammoth-size sweet tooth.

3. Surround yourself with positivity.

I'm really blessed to have a husband who fully supports my desire for our family to be healthy. Search out friends who will walk by your side in your efforts. Mes amis out there...you know who you are! Friends like these will help you stay accountable and pick you up when you think you can't get back up. 

4. If you've heard of the 80/20 rule you know that that means 80% of the time you eat well and then 20% of the time you can splurge.

This is a life resolution for me. It gives me hope and makes it easier to stick to eating healthily because I'm not telling myself no to certain foods, I'm just saying moderation. Also, a big perk is the more healthfully you eat, the more the extra weight will take care of itself.

5. Be Active!

I once read, "It doesn't matter how slow you go, you're still lapping everyone on the couch." This has been so helpful for me. I don't have to be perfect in my form, I don't have to workout everyday, I don't have to lift ridiculously heavy weights. I just need to go at my own pace and build up. Once the process is started, it becomes exciting to see how you progress over the weeks.

Finally, for this segment, Be you! Find what workout you love, whether it's jogging, dvds, personal trainer, gym, if you enjoy doing it, it will be easier to stick to it. Discover new foods, try new recipes, realize that you don't have to be miserable to eat healthy.. Be the best version of you that you can be. Make friends, lose negative influences. Make Life Resolutions and take baby steps towards achieving big resolutions

Take care,

L

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
O
thank sir for info
Reply